‘Lost’ post of the week: too many familiar faces!

It’s very possible that my renewed Lost obsession could mean a post every week about the newest episodes and my thoughts. Hope that’s ok, apparently there’s only, like, 12 more of these things before it’s all over, so I guess it could be worse.

This week, I mull over Lost’s seemingly never ending parade of popular actors in supporting roles and how it’s starting to become a problem.

Now, between Matthew “Party of Five” Fox and Dominic “that one hobbit” Monaghan, it’s not like a bunch of nobody’s were running this cast, but over the years it has been the supporting characters who’ve popped up and been portrayed by various well known actors that’s stuck more in my head.

It was a practice that certainly happened enough in the earlier seasons, but lately it seems every little minor character is a “I know that guy/girl!” moment for me. And frankly it’s getting out of hand! I mean, we’re in the middle of a tense meeting, a new group of people is introduced, whether they’re the people on the boat, or the others in the temple. And I’m missing all the action because my brain’s too busy going, ” What’s that guy/girl from? I know them. What are they in?” Until I have a breakthrough or break down and check IMDB. Here’s a list of the most “Oh oh oh” inspiring casting choices on the show thus far.

Michelle Rodriguez as Ana Lucia Cortez

“oh oh oh” it’s that girl who always plays the tough chick/ bitch roles. Let’s see… Girl Fight, Resident Evil, S.W.A.T., Avatar anyone? I’m scared of her.

Clancy Brown as Kelvin Inman

“oh oh oh” it’s that guy from Shawshank Redemption. Yes, Clancy Brown, who also starred in the under appreciated Carnivale, and the completely unappreciated Pet Cemetery 2. Yikes. But he’s good.

Nathan Fillion as Kevin Callis

“oh oh oh”  it’s Captain Mal from Firefly, everyone’s favorite canceled-too-soon cult sci-fi western. He’s also been in the decent Slither, Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Whedon loves this guy) and two guys, a girl, and a pizza place? Really? Hmm. Yea, I guess so. Weird. When’s the last time you thought about that show?

Nestor Carbonell as Richard Alpert

“oh oh oh ” it’ the mayor from the Dark Knight. That’s cool, that’s cool. He was also Batmanuel in that live action The Tick tv show. But we’ll forgive him this time. Everyone’s done something they’re not too proud of.

Rob McElhenney as Aldo

Why the Fuck is Mac from It’s Always Sunny on Lost? Seriously? Why? It makes no sense! It’s fucking Mac, I can’t watch him on anything, especially this shit, without thinking of the dick towel! I don’t want to think about the dick towel on Lost! That’s what It’s Always Sunny is for. Just when I forgot he was on this show, they bring him back on this last week’s episode! Why? So he can get shot? Anyone could’ve done that!

Jon Gries as Roger Linus

“oh oh oh” it’s Uncle Rico from Napoleon Dynamite. Maybe the funniest/saddest part of that movie, Gries here plays another pathetic loser in Ben Linus’ father. Typecasting? Gries would probably say no, but I don’t know…

Doug Hutchison as Horace Goodspeed

“oh oh oh” it’s my favorite monster  from the entire X-Files series! This guy played the liver eating, body squeezing, hibernating every thirty years beast, in the flat out creepiest two episodes of the show. I fucking love Eugene Victor Tooms, so happy to see this guy get work.

Jeremy Davies as Daniel Faraday and Ken Leung as Mile Straume

“oh oh oh” yea, these two are familiar. Davies was the little stuttering guy in Twister and Saving Private Ryan, and Leung was in a couple of Brett Ratner movies, Rush Hour and X-Men 3. Hmm. Can’t say those resumes are too impressive. At least they’re good in this! I really like(ed) both of these characters. I want to know more about Miles, he’s got the most interesting personal story going on just with that whole talking to the dead power. C’mon Lost! More Miles!

Jeff Fahey as Frank Lapidus

“oh oh oh” it’s the Lawnmower Man you guys! Remember that movie with the terrible computer graphics about a simpleton who gets turned into some kind of super computer villain? It sucked!

Hiroyuki Sanada as Dogen and John Hawkes as Lennon

“oh oh oh” I know these two. Give me a sec. Umm. Yea. Sanada I know from the excellent and criminally under recognized Sunshine. He’s the Captain in it and he’s great. Hawkes is recognizable to any fan of Deadwood as Sol Star. I like him, always have. He’s really terrific in Me and You and Everyone We Know. But, really Lost. Naming him “Lennon” with that hair, glasses, and overall far east hippie vibe? Where’s Yoko? Hell, where’s Ringo? The metaphors are running thin is all I’m saying.

Mark Pellegrino as Jacob

“oh oh oh” man these are starting to get tough. Um, ok. This guy dunks the Dude in the toilet while the other guy pisses on the rug in the Big Lebowski. That rug really tied the room together, man.

You see how my brain works? I forgot half the plot of Lost in my time watching it, but I know that the guy who plays Phil the Dharma security guard was in  David Lynch’s Mullholland Drive and the guy who plays George Minowski  from the boat played that really racist character in the Short Circuit movies.

Why does my head fill up with the useless stuff while all the important stuff just floats away? Why am I cursed with this trivial mind? When will Lost make any goddamn sense? Why did they waste one of their final few episodes on Kate’s story and Jack asking, “What’s in the pill? What’s in the pill? I don’t even trust myself!” Get on with it!

That is all.

-Charlie

Leave a comment

Filed under TV Sucks

Leave a Reply

